Carrot, nut and herb burgers

For some reason, I’ve been waking up though the night recently thinking about carrot burgers, it’s happened a couple of times. I had been waiting a few days in case it occurred again so I could find out exactly what was in them, but, disappointingly, my dreams haven’t revealed anything else. If they had though, I’m guessing it would be pretty similar to these burgers, they are really tasty!

 

ready to serve

 

Makes 5.

250g roughly grated carrot (about two large carrots)

90g diced mushrooms (about 3 mushrooms)

50g walnuts

2 tbsp sesame seeds

10g fresh parsley, stalks and leaves

15g fresh coriander, stalks and leaves

3tbsp crunchy peanut butter

1tsp garam masala

30g brown rice flour (or any other flour, it’s just to help them bind)

Salt and pepper to taste.

Start by breaking up the walnuts (I just crush them in my hands) and pop them, with the sesame seeds, into a dry pan on a low heat. We want them to brown and go super tasty, but not burn or they’ll taste bitter. It takes a couple of minutes.

Finely chop the herbs, I’m very fond of using a mezzaluna for herb chopping,  I find it very quick and gives a good result.

In a large bowl mix the carrots, mushrooms, herbs, garam masala, a good pinch of salt and pepper, and add the walnut and sesame when browned.

 

pretty ingredients

 
Next add the peanut butter and flour to the mix, the only sensible way I can find to mix them was to get in with my hands and squash it all through, the smell when you do this is well worth the amount of time you have to spend washing your afterwards!

 

acutally remembered to wash my hands before reaching for the tablet to take a pic!

 
Leave the mix to rest for a couple of minutes and warm a couple of tablespoons of oil in a frying pan.

Form roughly hand sized patties and add to the hot pan, they only take a scant 5 minutes a side to cook, as the outside browns and caramelises very quickly, turn them over when this happens.

Pile them high with condiments and salad!

 

lunch!

 
By A.

2 thoughts on “Carrot, nut and herb burgers

Leave a comment